07 August 2017
Minister for Mental Health Tanya Davies today announced the appointment of Catherine Lourey as NSW Mental Health Commissioner, following an independent recruitment process led by the state’s Public Service Commissioner.
“Ms Lourey is an outstanding champion for mental health reform,” Mrs Davies said.
“She has a proven track record over the past 25 years, leading and delivering major strategic and complex projects within the mental health sector, and is driven to improve outcomes for mental health consumers in NSW.”
After spending three years in key executive roles at the National Mental Health Commission, Ms Lourey joined the Mental Health Commission of NSW in 2015. She was then appointed as a Deputy Commissioner in 2016. 
She has worked closely on the implementation of Living Well, coordinated a national review of mental health services, and spent more than 11 years managing the planning and development of contemporary mental health facilities across the state. 
Mrs Davies thanked John Feneley, the state’s first Mental Health Commissioner, for his work during his five-year appointment. 
“Mr Feneley has been a fearless advocate for people experiencing mental illness in NSW.” 
“His contribution to the continued effort by Government, community organisations, consumers and their networks to reform mental health care in this state has been significant,” Mrs Davies said.    
The NSW Government is in the midst of a decade-long whole-of-government enhancement of mental health services and is committed to supporting mental health reform. 
“It’s about putting people, not process, at the centre of the mental health care system.”
“I congratulate Ms Lourey on her appointment and look forward to working closely with the Commission as it continues to spearhead mental health reform in NSW,” Mrs Davies said.
The Mental Health Commission of NSW is an independent statutory agency responsible for monitoring, reviewing and improving mental health and wellbeing for people in NSW. It was established by the NSW Liberals and Nationals Government in 2012. 
For further information visit: Mental Health Commission of New South Wales

Page Updated: Monday 7 August 2017