30 clinical communities of practice (COP) have been established across key clinical specialities to support the response to COVID-19. The COPs are multidisciplinary and include representation from all districts and networks. The purpose of the COPs is to:
  • support clinicians to network and share strategies, local solutions and issues with respect to pandemic preparedness
  • identify, prioritise and escalate issues and solutions related to COVID-19 that require a statewide or system response
  • review and provide expert clinical advice on guidelines, resources and other information
  • share Ministry approved advice and resources on the response to COVID-19 that can be circulated within all districts and networks.

Clinical leads for each COP have been appointed and they will participate in the NSW COVID-19 Clinical Council. The council has been established as a peak governance body in which all clinical leads from the 30 established COPs can come together to contribute to the overarching planning and delivery of quality health services across the system. The council is chaired by Dr Nigel Lyons, Deputy Secretary, Health System Strategy and Planning.

Communities of Practice Governance diagram​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​


Dr Nigel Lyons​​​

Specialty areas

​​​Specialty areas Clinical leads​ Meeting time​ Meeting contact​
Adult ICU and paediatric ICU ​Dr Nhi Nguyen (adult)
Dr Marino Festa (Paed)
Fortnightly - ​Tuesdays at 9am
Aged care / Aged​ health ​Prof. Vasi Naganathan
Monthly -  1st Tuesday at 9:30am-10:30am​ ​​Email
Alcohol and other drugs ​ ​Dr Tony Gill Monthly - 4th Tuesday at 1:30pm Email​​​
Anaesthesia ​Dr Richard Halliwell
Monthly - 1st Tuesday at 6pm-7pm 
Cancer and blood and marrow transplant Dr Winst​on Liauw
Weekly - Tuesdays at​ 4:30pm Email
Cardiac ​Prof. David Brieger
Jackie Colgan​
Fortnightly - ​Fridays at 2pm
Child and family health ​Dr Elisabeth Murphy Fortnightly - Thursdays at 9am Email
​Community health​ ​Kylie Burke Fortnightly - ​Fridays at 11am ​Email
Diabetes and Endocrine Prof. Gregory Fulcher ​Fortnightly - Thursdays at 8:30am Email
​Disability​ Andrew Davison ​​Fortnightly - Wednesdays at 2:30pm​
Drug and therapeutics Prof. Sarah Hilmer ​Fortnightly - Wednesdays at 9am Email
​Emergency department Dr Lai Heng Foong​
Fortnightly - Wednesdays ​at 3pm Email
Infection Prevention and Control Clinical Response Network ​Kathy Dempsey Weekly - ​Thursdays at 3pm Email
Infectious diseases ​Dr Nicky Gilroy
Dr Matthew O'Sullivan
Fortnightly - Wednesdays 10:30am-11:30am ​Email​​
Maternity and Newborn ​Prof. Michael Nicholl
Fortnightly - Thursdays​ at 9am Email
Medical imaging ​Dr Derek Glenn Fortnightly - ​Wednesdays at 8:30am​ Email
Mental health​ ​Dr Murray Wright
Dr Nick O'Connor
Fortnightly - ​Wednesdays at 12pm Email
​NICU and Special Care Nursery​ ​​​Dr Srinivas Bolisetty (NICU)
Dr Catherine Allgood (SCN)
Fortnightly - ​Thursdays at 9am Email​​
Non-Government organisations Robert Stirling Monthly -  3rd Friday at 10am Email
​Oral health​ ​​Dr Lanny Chor Fortnightly - ​Tuesdays at 2:30pm​ ​​​Email
​Paediatrics and youth​ ​Dr Matthew O'Meara (paediatrics)
​Prof. Rachel Skinner (youth)
Monthly - ​4th Thursday 10:15am-11am​ Email
Palliative care Dr Katherine Clark
Prof. Richard Chye
​Fortnightly - Wednesdays at 9am
Pathology ​Prof. Roger Wilson Weekly - ​Wednesdays at 2:30pm Email​​
Primary care Dr Kean-Seng Lim (metro)
Dr Ai-Vee Chua (rural)​​
A/Prof. Charlotte Hespe​
Fortnightly - Tuesdays at 1pm Email
Rehabilitation Prof. Steven Faux Monthly - last Wednesday at 3pm-4pm Email
Renal ​Dr Peter Choi Weekly, as required - ​Thursdays at 5:30pm Email
Respiratory Prof. Peter Wark ​Fortnightly - Wednesdays ​at 2pm Email
​Spinal cord injury Prof. James Middleton ​Monthly -  last Thursday at 2pm
Surgery ​A/Prof. Arthur Richardson Fortnightly - ​Thursdays at 5:30pm Email
​Virtual care Dr Shannon Nott​ Monthly - ​1st Wednesday at 12pm Email
Current as at: Tuesday 20 October 2020
Contact page owner: Health Protection NSW