Some Aboriginal Communities are requesting support to minimise movement in and out of their local area to reduce the risk of COVID-19.

NSW Health advises movement into and out of remote Aboriginal Communities in NSW should be minimised wherever possible, and conducted in consultation with the individual Community involved when the travel is considered necessary.

If it is necessary to visit a remote Aboriginal community, visitors, workers and organisations should first contact the town’s Local Emergency Management Committee for advice about the local area arrangements (these will have been developed in partnership with the local Community Members). Contact details for the Local Emergency Management Committees.

Businesses with staff who travel to remote Aboriginal communities for work purposes should complete a COVIDSafe Plan which includes consideration of the issues outlined in this checklist.

Individuals who need to travel to remote Aboriginal communities for work purposes should also consult the checklist and make appropriate arrangements before travel.​

More information

Visit NSW Government - Coronavirus (COVID-19) for advice and information for community and businesses, including information about COVID-19 symptoms, testing and physical distancing.​​

Page Updated: Tuesday 9 June 2020
Contact page owner: Health Protection NSW