The revised National Standards for Mental Health Services was released by the Australian Government's Department of Health in September 2010.

The Standards apply to the broad range of mental health services that make up the mental health sector, including:

  • bed based and community mental health services
  • those in the clinical and non-government sectors
  • those in the private sector
  • those in primary care and general practice.

You can download an electronic copy of the Standards by clicking on the image at right or visiting the Department of Health website.

You can also order hard copies from DOH's National Mailing and Marketing on (02) 6269 1080 or by emailing  Quote publication code MH259.


The following resources will support services to understand and implement the National Standards.

Contact page owner: Mental Health Branch