The NSW End of Life Implementation Advisory Committee was established in October 2013 to provide leadership in end of life care in NSW. The Committee is co-chaired by the Chief Health Officer and Deputy Secretary, Population and Public Health, NSW Health and the Chief Executive, Agency for Clinical Innovation. Members are drawn from within NSW Health and from other NSW Government agencies and non-government organisations.

All enquiries regarding the Committee should be directed to the Secretariat at

On this page​

NSW End of Life Implementation Advisory Committee Members


Dr Kerry Chant PSM
Chief Health Officer and Deputy Secretary, Population and Public Health

Dr Jean-Frederic Levesque
Chief Executive, NSW Agency for Clinical Innovation (ACI)

Advance care planning

Ms Anne Meller
Clinical Nurse Consultant, South Eastern Sydney Local Health District

Aged care

Mr Brendan Moore
State Manager NSW & ACT, Leading Age Services Australia Lts

Dr Welkee Sim
Clinical Director, Aged Care, Long Bay Hospital


Ms Lisa Langley
Policy Manager, Council on the Ageing (COTA NSW)

Ms Richelle Arnott
Director, Carers, Ageing and Disability Inclusion, Office for Ageing, NSW Department of Family and Community Services


Ms Elena Katrakis
Chief Executive Officer, Carers NSW

Chronic disease

Mr Rob Wilkins
Palliative Care Network Manager, ACI Primary and Chronic Care Network

Ms Kellie Flowers
Aged Care Network Manager, ACI Aged Care Network

Clinical governance

Ms Kylie Downs
A/Director of Clinical Governance, Central Coast Local Health District


Ms Lucille Bloch
Consumer representative, Health Consumers NSW

Mr Geoffrey Berry
Consumer representative, Health Consumers NSW

Education and training

Ms Nina Lord
Deputy Director, Health Education and Training Institute

Emergency care

Dr Michael Golding
Clinical Director, Emergency Care Institute

Emergency services

Ms Michelle Shiel
Manager, Models of Care, Ambulance Service of NSW

Ethics/Intensive care

Dr Peter Saul
Director, Clinical Unit in Ethics and Health Law, University of Newcastle, Hunter New England Local Health District

General practice

Dr Elizabeth Hindmarsh
Royal Australasian College of General Practice


Ms Anna Gauci
A/Assistant Public Guardian - Advocacy and Policy, Office of the Public Guardian

Ms Anne Britton
Principal Member, Guardianship Division, NSW Civil and Administrative Tribunal (NCAT)

Health service provision

Ms Jill Reyment
Deputy Director Clinical Governance, Murrumbidgee Local Health District

Ms Kay Hyman
Chief Executive, Nepean Blue Mountains Local Health District

Integrated care

Ms Tish Bruce
Director, Health and Social Policy Branch, NSW Ministry of Health


Ms Pam Suttor
Chair, Elder Law and Estate Committee (NSW), Law Society of New South Wales

Palliative care

Ms Linda Hansen
Executive Officer, Palliative Care NSW

Mr Rob Wilkins
Palliative Care Network Manager, ACI Palliative Care Network


Dr Susan Trethewie
Senior Staff Specialist, Paediatric Palliative Care, Sydney Children’s Hospital Randwick


Ms Kahren White
Resources - Project Manager, System Improvement, Cancer Institute NSW

Primary healthcare

Ms Amanda Martin
Executive Support Manager, Quality Commissioning and Improvement, Hunter New England Central Coast Primary Health Network, Primary Health Care Network

Quality and safety

Ms Bernadette King
Program Lead, End of Life, Clinical Excellence Commission


Ms Angela Koutoulas
Office of the Chief Health Officer, NSW Ministry of Health

Ex-officio members with relevant expertise

Ms Angela Koutoulas
A/Manager, Clinical Ethics and Policy, Office of the Chief Health Officer, NSW Ministry of Health

Ms Leanne O’Shannessy
Chief Counsel and Director, Legal and Regulatory Services, NSW Ministry of Health

Terms of reference

The Terms of Reference were endorsed 6 December 2013.


The Committee is constituted to provide leadership in end of life care to ensure:

  • the development of end of life care that will meet current and future needs of the people of NSWhe development of end of life care that will meet current and future needs of the people of NSW
  • a coordinated approach in developing and implementing end of life care reforms in NSW
  • a significant culture change occurs within the health professions and system so that death and conversations about death and dying are seen as a normal part of living.

End of life is that part of life where a person is living with, and impaired by, an eventually fatal condition and where it can be reasonably expected to cause the death of that person within the foreseeable future, such as in the next 6-12 months. The term ‘end of life’ applies to these patients who are approaching the end of life, as well as those who are in the terminal phase, that is, when death is expected in the next hours, days or weeks. The definition is inclusive of both malignant and non-malignant illness and ageing.


The Committee will advise the NSW Ministry of Health on:

  1. the strategic direction for quality end of life care delivered in partnership with relevant NSW Health, government agencies and inter-sectoral partners
  2. mechanisms by which acute, primary, aged care, and specialist palliative care sectors can collaborate in quality end of life care
  3. implementation of the NSW Health Advance Planning for Quality Care at End of Life: Action Plan 2013-2018
  4. development of policy and suitable documentation to support end of life care
  5. mechanisms that enable communication about end of life initiatives within the NSW health system
  6. identifying unaddressed gaps
  7. mechanisms to enable and ensure the needs of consumers are considered in all of the above.


The Chief Health Officer and Deputy Director General, Population and Public Health and the Chief Executive, Agency for Clinical Innovation will co-chair the Committee.


Membership comprises representatives from sectors with the expertise and knowledge required to support the Committee in its work.


Secretariat support will be provided by the Office of the Chief Health Officer.

Frequency and location of meetings

Meetings will be held three to four times per year at the NSW Ministry of Health. Teleconference participation will be supported. The agenda and meeting papers will be available at least one week before meetings.


Terms of Reference will be reviewed annually or as required.


The co-chairs will report annually or as required to the NSW Health Senior Executive Forum. Implementation progress reports will be provided to the Minister for Health as required.

Page Updated: Thursday 4 April 2019