

## **LEGAL INSTRUMENT**

## POISONS AND THERAPEUTIC GOODS ACT 1966

Authority to Supply

I, Dr Kerry Chant, Chief Health Officer and delegate of the Health Secretary, pursuant to sections 10(2)(b) and 10(4)(d) of the Poisons and Therapeutic Goods Act 1966 and clauses 170 and 171 of the Poisons and Therapeutic Goods Regulation 2008 (the Regulation) hereby authorise registered nurses, being a specified class of persons under clause 170(4) of the Regulation, to supply the poison and restricted substances listed in the Schedule underneath subject to the following conditions:

- (1) The registered nurse is an Accredited Registered Nurse under NSW Health Policy Directive PD2020\_024 RN Supply and Administration of STI Therapies in Publicly Funded Sexual Health Services.
- (2) The supply by the Accredited Registered Nurse is in the course of employment at a public health organisation (within the meaning of the *Health Services Act 1997*) in accordance with NSW Health Policy Directive PD2020\_024 RN Supply and Administration of STI Therapies in Publicly Funded Sexual Health Services.
- (3) In supplying the poisons or restricted substance, the Accredited Registered Nurse follows the 'Algorithm for Supply and Administration of STI Therapies by Accredited Registered Nurses Employed in NSW PFSHS' (from the point the patient/contact attends the clinic for treatment) under the NSW Health Policy Directive PD2020\_024 RN Supply and Administration of STI Therapies in Publicly Funded Sexual Health Services.

This authority is for the purpose of clauses 17 and 53 of the Poisons and Therapeutic Goods Regulation 2008 and is published on the NSW Health website under clause 170(4) of the Regulation.

The authority dated 6 August 2020 with respect to the supply of azithromycin, doxycycline, ceftriaxone and metronidazole under NSW Health Policy Directive PD2020\_024 RN Supply and Administration of STI Therapies in Publicly Funded Sexual Health Services and published on the NSW Health website is hereby revoked.

SCHEDULE

azithromycin
doxycycline
ceftriaxone
metronidazole
benzylpenicillin (benzathine benzylpenicillin tetrahydrate)
tenofovir (tenofovir disoproxil) with emtricitabine
valaciclovir
fluconazole
levonorgestrel for emergency post-coital contraception (Schedule 3)

Dr KERRY CHANT

Chief Health Officer New South Wales Ministry of Health

Date 02/02/2023

Delegation Numbers: PH427, PH380, PH381