## ACKNOWLEDGEMENT OF COUNTRY

The NSW Ministry of Health acknowledges Aboriginal people as the traditional custodians of the lands and waters of NSW and pays respect to elders past, present and future.

In this report, Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people are referred to as Aboriginal people in recognition that Aboriginal people are the original inhabitants of NSW.

## **DEFINITION OF ABORIGINAL HEALTH**

"Aboriginal health means not just the physical wellbeing of an individual but refers to the social, emotional and cultural wellbeing of the whole community in which each individual is able to achieve their full potential as a human being, thereby bringing about the total wellbeing of their community..."

## **ACKNOWLEDGEMENTS**

The NSW Ministry of Health gratefully acknowledges staff of the following organisations for their participation in surveys and interviews: the Aboriginal Health & Medical Research Council of NSW; Awabakal Medical Service; Bulgarr Ngaru Medical Aboriginal Corporation; Waminda South Coast Women's Health and Welfare Aboriginal Corporation; Bourke Aboriginal Health Service; Galambila Aboriginal Health Service; Walgett Aboriginal Medical Service; Tharawal Aboriginal Corporation; The Glen Centre Central Coast Drug Alcohol Rehabilitation; Griffith Aboriginal Medical Service; Katungul Aboriginal Corporation; and various NSW Health organisations.

Thanks to the members of the NSW Aboriginal Health Plan Mid-term Evaluation Working Group for their input and guidance during all phases of the evaluation:

- Stephen Blunden, Aboriginal Health & Medical Research Council of NSW
- Robyn Martin, Mid North Coast Local Health District
- Catherine White, Centre for Aboriginal Health, NSW Ministry of Health (Chair)
- · Helen Gardiner, Centre for Aboriginal Health, NSW Ministry of Health
- · Andrew Milat, Centre for Epidemiology and Evidence, NSW Ministry of Health
- · Aaron Cashmore, Centre for Epidemiology and Evidence, NSW Ministry of Health
- · Leigh McIndoe, Centre for Epidemiology and Evidence, NSW Ministry of Health

Thanks to the following people for their contribution to data collection, analysis and/or reporting processes: Dr Aaron Cashmore; Dr Andrew Milat; Ms Leigh McIndoe; Ms Amanda Jayakody; Ms Shelley Thompson; Ms Wedyan Meshreky; Ms Kit Leung; Ms Sarah Neill; Dr Michael Nelson; Ms Jackie Robertson; Ms Kristy Goldsworthy; Ms Catherine White; Ms Helen Gardiner; Dr Megan Campbell; Ms Lisa Yu; and Ms Brenda Currie. Thanks to the System Information and Analytics Branch in the NSW Ministry of Health for supporting the preparation and analysis of administrative health data.

Executive sponsors of the evaluation are Dr Kerry Chant, Ms Geraldine Wilson-Matenga and Associate Professor Sarah Thackway.