NSW will be implementing a meningococcal ACWY school-based vaccination program targeting Year 11 and 12 students in secondary schools from Term 2 2017 that will provide protection against meningococcal serogroups A, C and Y as well as W. This is in response to the emergence of meningococcal W as a significant cause of invasive meningococcal disease in Australia in 2016. Evidence suggests that this strain of the disease is more severe than other types .

 Video for GPs

Page Updated: Wednesday 8 February 2017