Winner for Patient Safety First​

Western Sydney Local Health District

Winner for Patient Safety First​
Jonny Taitz CEC, Louis Do WSLHD, Jennifer Curnow WSLHD, Jason Montgomery WSLHD, Helen Crowther WSLHD, David Currow Cancer Institute, Lorraine Koller WSLHD, Elizabeth Koff, Brad Hazzard.

The Westmead Hospital emergency department team identified a significant variation in how Deep Vein Thrombosis (DVT) presentations were treated. The team initiated processes for standardising and optimising management of acute DVT, including a web-based clinical decision support tool. Also, a streamlined model of care for assessment, treatment and follow-up was implemented with ongoing monitoring and evaluation enabling continuous improvement.

Results showed a significant increase in the number of patients receiving appropriate investigation, treatment and referral from 12.82 per cent to 84.21 per cent. Other beneficial outcomes included a shortened time between ED assessment and clinic follow up with 92 per cent of patients seen in three days or less and a reported reduction in stress experienced due to ‘anti-clot’ treatment and high rates of satisfaction. Fewer patients also experienced complications of treatment prior to follow up.​​​​​

Winner for Patient Safety First​ ​​​​​​

Current as at: Friday 10 November 2017