People with a psychosocial disability that significantly impacts their life and is likely to be permanent may qualify for NDIS support.​

Last updated: 17 August 2018

What is psychosocial disability?

Psychosocial disability is the term used to describe disabilities that may arise from mental health issues. Whilst not everyone who has a mental health issue will experience psychosocial disability, those that do can experience severe effects and social disadvantage.

About the NDIS

The National Disability Insurance Scheme (NDIS) is an Australia-wide scheme that assists people with disability including, psychosocial disability. People with a disability that significantly impacts their life and is likely to be permanent may qualify for NDIS support.

The scheme provides funding directly to eligible participants enabling them to purchase the services they need.

The National Disability Insurance Agency (NDIA) is implementing the scheme and is responsible for assessing eligibility and working with participants to develop support plans to meet their needs.

NSW Health is working closely with the NDIA to ensure our patients, their families and carers can make the most of the opportunities and services available through the NDIS.

Eligibility criteria - people with psychosocial disability

To be eligible to become a participant of the NDIS an inpidual must satisfy the age requirements (i.e. be under 65 years at time of request) and residence requirements (i.e. be an Australian citizen, a permanent resident of Australia or a New Zealand citizen who is a Protected Special Category Visa holder).

An individual must also satisfy one of the disability or early intervention requirements set out in the NDIS Act 2013. A person meets the disability requirements if:

  • they have a disability that is likely to be permanent (including psychosocial disability) and
  • without support, they have a substantially reduced capacity to take part in the activities of daily living and effectively participate in society and
  • they are likely to require support from the NDIS over their lifetime.

A person can meet these criteria even if they have an episodic mental illness. More information on psychosocial disability, recovery and the NDIS is available online.

More detail on each requirement is set out in the NDIS (Becoming a Participant) Amendment Rules 2017.

NSW Health and the NDIS

The scheme does not replace mainstream health services. NSW Health continues to provide emergency and routine clinical services such as surgery, dental care and palliative care to all NSW residents, including those with a disability.

Not all elements of a person’s support needs are met through NDIS funded support. Some are met through mainstream support services, family and friends. The NDIS funds reasonable and necessary non-clinical supports that focus on a person’s functional ability.

NSW Health's ongoing role in relation to mental health

NSW Health continues to be responsible for the following for clients with mental illness:

  • assessment, diagnosis and referral for people entering or exiting the NSW Health system
  • clinical care related to physical and mental health
  • care in clinical residential settings managed by NSW Health, including non-clinical support
  • discharge planning and follow up
  • community-based services for people with mental illness, including the Housing and Accommodation Support Initiative (HASI) and Community Living Supports (CLS).

Accessing the NDIS

NSW Health can assist people with mental illness who may be eligible to access the NDIS. This includes people in both inpatient and community settings. For further information about how to help clients access the NDIS, visit the following:

Each local health district (LHD) and specialty health network (SHN) has a NDIS Transition Lead and a NDIS Mental Health Champion, who can provide additional resources and advice.​

Current as at: Friday 17 August 2018
Contact page owner: Government Relations