Mr Chris Puplick AM

Chris Puplick is the Chair of the Justice Health and Forensic Mental Health Network Board and was appointed to this position in September 2012.

He has a long history of interest and involvement in both public health and corrections policy, having been at various times the Chair of the Central Sydney Area Health Service and the Australian National Council on AIDS, Hepatitis C and Related Diseases and having been commissioned by a previous NSW State Government to review the provision of services to developmentally delayed inmates in custody. He combined an interest in both these areas of public policy during the period that he was the NSW Anti-Discrimination and the State's first Privacy Commissioner.

Earlier in his career Chris was a Senator for the State of NSW and a member of the Shadow Cabinet and Manager of Opposition Business in the Senate. He has also served on numerous statutory boards including the Theatre Board of the Australia Council; the National Film and Sound Archive of Australia and the governing bodies of the Australian Museum and Taronga Park Zoo.

He is a well published author and broadcaster and continues his association with human rights issues through participation with the Community Restorative Centre, Amnesty International and the NSW Council of Civil Liberties.

Board members

  • Dr Penny Abbott
  • Mr Ken Barker PSM
  • Ms Alison Churchill
  • Mr Peter Dwyer
  • Ms Michelle Eason
  • Mr Ian Gillespie
  • Mr Stuart Loveday
  • Dr Kath McFarlane
  • ​Dr Jonathan Phillips AM
  • Associate Professor Carolyn Quadrio​​
  • Dr Robyn Shields AM
  • Dr Mindy Sotiri
Page Updated: Monday 6 January 2020