08 March 2017
Minister for Women Tanya Davies today named Dr Nicole Seebacher the 2017 NSW Young Woman of the Year as part of the NSW Women of the Year Awards at the International Convention Centre Sydney.

“Dr Nicole Seebacher is an extraordinary woman whose research relating to drug-resistant cancers proves that age is no barrier to making a positive difference in our community. She also actively advocates for gender equity in medicine,” Mrs Davies said.

“I wholeheartedly congratulate Dr Seebacher on her win, as well as the three other outstanding finalists for making it this far.
“On International Women’s Day 2017, the Women of the Year Awards recognises the many women leading the way in cultural and economic progress in NSW,” Mrs Davies said.

Dr Seebacher is a medical student at the University of Sydney who has continued cancer and cardiovascular research in a voluntary capacity since completing her PhD in Medicine in 2015. The success of her research has contributed to clinical trials, treating patients with advanced tumours in Australia.

The Harvey Norman Young Woman of the Year Award, one of six award categories in this year’s NSW Women of the Year Awards, recognises a woman aged between 18 and 30 who has made significant achievements and/or contributions to the community.

The Awards support the NSW Government’s commitment to building an equitable, inclusive and safe society where all women are valued and respected, can contribute meaningfully, and can enjoy the rights, freedoms and protections to which everyone in NSW is entitled.

The Awards are sponsored by First State Super. To discover Dr Seebacher’s story and the other finalists, visit www.women.nsw.gov.au/awards​​
Page Updated: Tuesday 14 March 2017