17 November 2023

The 11th annual NSW Health Excellence in Nursing and Midwifery Awards were held in Sydney yesterday, to celebrate some of the outstanding nurses and midwives across the state.

For the first time since 2019, the awards were held as a live ceremony at Parliament House.

Health Minister Ryan Park extended his sincere congratulations to the 29 winners and finalists.

“The professional achievements, compassion and dedication on display yesterday were nothing short of remarkable,” Mr Park said.

“I also want to thank all of our nurses and midwives across the state for the skill, professionalism, and heartfelt care they provide each and every day to the people of NSW.”

NSW Health Secretary Susan Pearce congratulated the winners and finalists in this year’s Excellence Awards, acknowledging the many nurses and midwives among them who were nominated from across rural and regional NSW.

“The opportunity to celebrate the excellence and achievements of NSW Health nurses and midwives, many of whom travelled long distances to attend last night in-person, is a real highlight and I am so pleased for all the winners,” Ms Pearce said.

NSW Health Chief Nursing and Midwifery Officer, Jacqui Cross, said it is a wonderful opportunity to recognise the outstanding work nurses and midwives do every day, and extended her gratitude and congratulations to all the winners and finalists.

“These awards celebrate all nurses and midwives across the continuum of their career,” Ms Cross said.

“One of many highlights was the Judith Meppem Lifetime Achievement Award, which recognises the contribution of an outstanding nurse or midwife who, throughout their career, has had a positive and sustained influence on patients, the health system and their profession.”

This year the Judith Meppem Lifetime Achievement Award went to Executive Director of Nursing Anna Thornton from St Vincent’s Hospital Network.

“The Excellence in Nursing and Midwifery Awards represent a significant opportunity to take a moment to stop, reflect and recognise the commitment, compassion, innovation and exceptional care being provided to the people of NSW by our nurses and midwives,” Ms Cross said.

The winners in each of the nine categories are:

  • Nurse of the Year (joint winners): John McAllister, Nurse Practitioner, HIV and Sexual Unit, St Vincent’s Hospital Network AND Trent Williams, Clinical Nurse Consultant, John Hunter Hospital, Hunter New England LHD
  • Midwife of the Year: Tracey Codner, Clinical Midwife Consultant, Nepean Hospital, Nepean Blue Mountains LHD
  • New to Practice Nurse/Midwife of the Year: Garima Nepal, Registered Nurse, Coonabarabran Health Service, Western NSW LHD
  • Nursing/Midwifery Team of the Year: Dorrigo Nursing Unit, Dorrigo Multipurpose Service, Mid North Coast LHD
  • Nursing and Midwifery Leadership Award: Jane Jackson, Nurse Manager, The Forensic Hospital, Justice Health & Forensic Mental Health Network
  • Judith Meppem Lifetime Achievement Award: Anna Thornton, Executive Director of Nursing, St Vincent’s Hospital Network
  • Aboriginal Nurse/Midwife of the Year: Sharelle Anderson, Registered Midwife, Aboriginal Maternal Infant Health Service, Southern NSW LHD
  • Healing Heart Award (colleague nominated): Gillian Prott, Clinical Nurse Specialist, Royal North Shore Hospital, Northern Sydney LHD
  • Healing Heart Award (consumer nominated): Angela Kiss, Clinical Nurse Consultant, St Vincent’s Hospital, St Vincent’s Hospital Network

For more information, including a full list of finalists, visit 2023 Excellence in Nursing and Midwifery Awards​.​​