09 August 2021

Anyone in NSW who has been in the Cairns or Yarrabah local government areas (LGAs) in Queensland since 4pm Sunday 8 August must stay at home and only leave their residence with a reasonable excuse.

Reasonable excuses include shopping, medical care, caregiving, outdoor exercise with a member of your household or one other person, and work or education, if you cannot do it from home.

A person who has been in Cairns or Yarrabah must comply with the stay-at-home rules for 14 days since they were last in an affected LGA, or until the notice is revoked.

Stay-at-home requirements have now been lifted for anyone who has been in Brisbane City, Moreton Bay Regional Council, Gold Coast, Ipswich, Lockyer Valley Regional Council, Logan City, Noosa Shire Council, Redland City, Scenic Rim Regional Council, Somerset Regional Council, and Sunshine Coast Regional Council since Wednesday 21 July.

Everyone in NSW, however, including those in the northern NSW border regions and those areas in NSW along the Victorian border, must continue to comply with all relevant public health orders that are in place in NSW.

Anyone arriving from Queensland, regardless of whether they've been in Cairns or Yarrabah, must still fill out a declaration form.

The declaration form is available on the Service NSW website, and can be completed in the 24-hour period before entering NSW or on arrival. The information gathered via the travel declarations is vital in allowing NSW Health to contact travellers if necessary.

People entering NSW who have been in Victoria in the last 14 days must also complete a declaration form.

Victoria remains an area of concern and the stay-at-home rules apply to anyone who has been in Victoria since Thursday 5 August, with an exemption in place in relation to the border region.

People entering NSW who have been in South Australia in the last 14 days are no longer required to complete a declaration form, as it is no longer an affected area.