2014 Annual NSW Health Innovation Symposium

Download as PDF

Time Session
9:00 – 10:30Morning Plenary
9.00 am Symposium opening
Master of Ceremonies, Dr Norman Swan, producer and presenter of the Health Report
9:05 am Welcome to Country
Uncle Ray Davison, Gadigal Elder
9:20 am HealthBeat
The Hon Jillian Skinner MP, Minister for Health and Minister for Medical Research, Dr Mary Foley, Secretary, NSW Health and Dr Norman Swan
9:50 am

From William Lloyd to Mick Jagger: You can’t always get what you want

  • Associate Professor Adam Elshaug, Menzies Centre for Health Policy, School of Public Health, The University of Sydney
  • Introduced by Mr David Akeroyd, Managing Director, Baxter Healthcare
10:30 - 11:00Morning Tea
11:00 - 1:00 Knowledge Café
An opportunity to engage with NSW Health Awards finalists and other local innovations in this interactive and informative café-style session. Dedicated guides will lead you around six experiences over this two hour session.
1.00 – 1.45


1.45 - 4.30

Afternoon Plenary

1:45 Welcome
The Hon Jai Rowell MP, Minister for Mental Health, Assistant Minister for Health

iCan be digital
Michael Walsh, Chief Executive, Chief Information Officer, eHealth NSW
Tanya Baldacchino, Telehealth Nurse Manager, Nepean Blue Mountains Local Health District
Carmen Rechbauer, Manager Food Services, HealthShare NSW: Mobile Menu Entry
Kerry Balding, IT Project Manager, Food Services Improvement Program, Food and Hotel Services
Guest panel:

  • Mary Potter, Board Member, Health Consumers NSW
  • Mr Michael Walsh, Chief Executive, Chief Information Officer, eHealth NSW
  • Katharine Duffy, Director of Nursing and Midwifery,Sydney Local Health District
  • Dr John Lambert, Chief Clinical Information Officer, eHealth NSW
  • Dr Mary McCaskill, Medical Director, Emergency Department, The Children’s Hospital at Westmead,
    The Sydney Children’s Hospitals Network
2.50 - 3.15Afternoon tea

NSW: A great state of innovation
Professor David S Celermajer AO FAA, Scandrett Professor of Cardiology, University of Sydney and Cardiologist, Royal Prince Alfred Hospital Guest speakers:

  • Dr Astrid Perry, Manager, Multicultural Health, South Eastern Sydney Local Health District
  • Ms Susan Daly, Director, Mental Health, Drug and Alcohol, Far West Local Health District
  • Mr Cain Byrnes, Patient Safety and Clinical Quality, Clinical Governance, Western Sydney Local Health District
4:15 People’s Choice Award
Presented by the Hon Jillian Skinner MP, Minister for Health and Minister for Medical Research

Closing address
Dr Mary Foley, Secretary, NSW Health

4:30Symposi​​um Concludes
Current as at: Wednesday 12 November 2014