Hunter New England Local Health District (HNELHD) covers a region of 131,785 square kilometres.

Kamilaroi, Gomilaroi, Geawegal, Bahtabah, Thungutti, Awabakal, Aniawan, Biripi, Worimi, Nganyaywana, Wonnarua, Banbai, Ngoorabul, Bundjalung, Yallaroi and Darkinung peoples are the traditional custodians of the land.

In 2021 the estimated population was 962,390 residents, and over the decade to 2031, the overall population is projected to increase to 1,038,920. 

Significant achievements have been made in HNELHD to improve rural health services. These include building collaborations with partner health services and organisations to share expertise and skills, undertaking strategic and clinical planning, and continued improvements to health services and infrastructure.

"Healthy people - now and into the future."

Visit the Hunter New England LHD website for more information or connect on Facebook and Twitter.

Public hospitals

  • Armidale
  • Barraba
  • Belmont
  • Bingara
  • Boggabri
  • Bulahdelah
  • Cessnock
  • Denman
  • Dungog
  • Emmaville/Vegetable Creek
  • Glen Innes
  • Gloucester
  • Gunnedah
  • Guyra
  • Inverell
  • John Hunter
  • Kurri Kurri
  • Maitland
  • Manilla
  • Merriwa
  • Moree
  • Murrurundi/Wilson
  • Muswellbrook
  • Narrabri
  • Nelson Bay
  • Newcastle Mater
  • Quirindi
  • Scone
  • Singleton
  • Tamworth
  • Taree/Manning
  • Tenterfield/Prince Albert
  • Tingha
  • Walcha
  • Warialda
  • Wee Waa
  • Werris Creek
  • Wingham

Hunter New England Local Health District
This map shows the location of public hospitals only. Visit the Hunter New England LHD website for a comprehensive list of facilities.