If you, or someone you know, is thinking about suicide or experiencing a personal crisis or distress, help is available. Tell someone about what you are thinking, even at the earliest signs. Please contact one of these services below or speak to your General Practitioner.

If you, or someone you know, are in immediate danger, please call 000 or go to your nearest hospital Emergency Department.


Phone: 13 11 14

Provides all Australians experiencing a personal crisis with access to 24 hour crisis support and suicide prevention services.

Suicide Call Back Service

Phone: 1300 659 467

Suicidecallbackservice.org.au A nationwide service that provides professional 24/7 telephone and online counselling to people who are affected by suicide.

NSW Mental Health Line

Phone: 1800 011 511

A single number, state-wide 24-hour mental health telephone access service.

Beyond Blue

Phone: 1300 224 636

Provides information and support to help everyone in Australia achieve their best possible mental health

Kids Helpline

Phone: 1800 551 800

A free, private and confidential, telephone and online counselling service specifically for young people aged between 5 and 25.

MensLine Australia

Phone: 1300 78 99 78

A telephone and online support, information and referral service for men.


Phone: 1800 184 527

A nationally-oriented counselling and referral service for LGBTI people operating from 3pm to Midnight, every day.

Additional services

Information on services for specific groups and communities (including youth, Aboriginal communities, LGBTI communities) can be found below: 

Contact lists

Page Updated: Friday 30 November 2018
Contact page owner: Mental Health Branch