​Under the Poisons and Therapeutic Goods Regulation 2008 the authority of a medical practitioner, nurse practitioner, dentist, registered nurse, pharmacist or veterinary practitioner to, as applicable, possess, supply, prescribe, dispense or administer Schedule 8 medications (also known as drugs of addiction or controlled drugs) may be withdrawn by the Secretary, NSW Health.

The Withdrawal & Restoration of Schedule 8 Drug Authorities – Current Listing is available to NSW public health organisations on the NSW Health intranet.

The list is also published by the Pharmacy Guild of Australia (NSW Branch) and is available to community pharmacies where the proprietor subscribes to the Guild’s ‘Guide to the New South Wales Medicines and Poisons Schedules’.

For further information on how to obtain a copy of the list, please contact Pharmaceutical Services Unit by telephone on (02) 9391 9944 during business hours or email MoH-PharmaceuticalServices@health.nsw.gov.au​.

Current as at: Monday 4 March 2024
Contact page owner: Pharmaceutical Services