Local Health Districts (LHDs)

The NSW public health system comprises of a diverse range of services. These include 15 Local Health Districts that are responsible for providing health services in a wide range of settings, from primary care posts in the remote outback to metropolitan tertiary health centres. Speciality Health Networks also deliver specific services. All these services offer a range of volunteering activities. Services should be contacted directly about opportunities for volunteering.

Speciality Health Networks

Justice and Forensic Mental Health Network

The Justice and Forensic Mental Health is a statewide service that provides forensic mental health services to forensic patients, in addition to adult and juvenile offenders in local courts, in custody or detention, and in the community. It also provides health services to adult offenders in police cells.

The Sydney Children's Hospital Network

The Sydney Children's Hospital Network comprises of the Sydney Children’s Hospital at Randwick and the Sydney Children’s Hospital at Westmead. It is the largest paediatric healthcare entity in Australia, with many volunteers engaged in various activities in a family-focused, healing environment.

Ambulance Service of NSW (ASNSW)

Volunteers have been operating in the Ambulance Service for many years and their role is vital. ASNSW Volunteers operate under Ambulance standard operating policies and procedures, health guidelines and relevant legislation. Volunteer ambulance officers, peer support officers, chaplains, consumer representatives and staff donate their time every day and make a significant difference to the delivery of quality care.

St Vincent’s Health Network

St Vincent’s Health Network Sydney (SVHNS) is an arm of St Vincent’s Health Australia - the largest Catholic and not for profit health & aged care provider in Australia. The Network comprises of St Vincent’s Hospital Sydney Limited as the affiliated health organisation in respect of three recognised establishments under the Health Services Act 1997 (NSW) (Health Services Act). Under the Health Services Act, St Vincent’s Hospital Sydney Limited, is treated as a Network for the purposes of the National Health Reform Agreement in respect of the three recognised establishments: St Vincent’s Hospital, Darlinghurst; Sacred Heart Health Service, Darlinghurst and; St Joseph’s Hospital, Auburn.

United Hospitals Auxiliaries (Inc.) (UHA)

Established in 1933, United Hospitals Auxiliaries (UHA) is the peak body which coordinates voluntary work for public hospitals and health services across NSW. UHA has 202 affiliated branches with over 6,000 members. UHA focuses on fundraising and patient welfare services, and seeks to diversify and increase their number of volunteers.

Page Updated: Wednesday 20 November 2013
Contact page owner: Health and Social Policy