At an awards ceremony held at Parliament House on Thursday 27 September, the finalists and winners from the 2018 Excellence in Nursing and Midwifery Awards were formally acknowledged by the NSW Health Minister, Brad Hazzard.

The nurses and midwives were honoured for their excellence in clinical practice, improvements in patient care and commitment to their profession.

Twelve winners were chosen from among 35 finalists, with14 finalists from regional and rural NSW.

NSW Chief Nursing and Midwifery Officer Jacqui Cross paid tribute to the finalists in each of the categories, which included Clinical Leadership, Innovation (Research and Education) and Consumer Appreciation.

“It would be difficult to find someone who hasn’t had an experience of nursing or midwifery care, either directly or, as part of supporting, or caring for a loved one,” she said.

“I wholeheartedly thank our nurses and midwives for providing compassionate, quality care and for making a difference for people in our communities.”

THe Hon. Brad Hazzard, Minister for Health and Jacqui Cross, Chief Nursing and Midwifery Officer with winners of the 2018 Excellence in Nursing and Midwifery Awards

Winners and finalists

Excellence in Nursing/Midwifery - Assistant in Nursing/Midwifery

Name Status LHD
Jacqueline Holden Winner NSLHD
Hellen Davood Finalist SWSLHD
Mamta Sharma Finalist NBMLHD

Excellence in Nursing – Enrolled Nurse

Name Status LHD
Emily Pritchard Winner WNSWLHD
Kate Aubry Finalist SWSLHD
Phillip Clarke Finalist JH&FMHN

Excellence in Nursing/Midwifery Graduate Award

Name Status LHD
Paula Thomas Winner SWSLHD
Veronica Javellana Finalist NBMLHD
Jessica Pahina Finalist SESLHD
Alanna Tobey Finalist WNSWLHD

Excellence in Nursing – Registered Nurse

Name Status LHD
Sally Forrest-Horder Winner SWSLHD
Marinelle Doctor Finalist NBMLHD
Leeanne Graham Finalist HNELHD
Megan Kepreotis Finalist HNELHD

Excellence in Midwifery – Registered Midwife

Name Status LHD
Boe Calvert Winner FWLHD
Alyssa Ashtiani Finalist NBMLHD
Alicia Hatcher Finalist NBMLHD

Excellence in Nursing/Midwifery – Clinical Leadership

Name Status LHD
Hannah Bannell Winner SLHD
Anne Moehead Finalist NNSWLHD
Christine Parker Finalist SLHD

Excellence in Innovation - Education

Name Status LHD
Brendon Williams Winner HNELHD

Trish Casey



Kathryn De Souza Finalist NNSWLHD

Excellence in Innovation - Research

Name Status LHD
Wayne Varndell Winner SESLHD
Peter Massey Finalist HNELHD

Excellence in Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Healthcare

Name Status LHD
Rachel Scobie Winner NBMLHD
Carlie Davis Finalist MLHD
Adrian Fahy Finalist WNSWLHD

Judith Meppem Lifetime Achievement Award

Nameh Status LHD
Agatha Champion Winner JH&FMHN
Mary Roberts Finalist WSLHD
Christine Turner Finalist SESLHD

Consumer Appreciation Award

Name Status LHD
Amanda Hawkins Winner MNCLHD
Jennifer McKenzie Winner MLHD
Chantelle Mackenzie Finalist WSLHD
Ashlee Rea Finalist SWSLHD
Current as at: Tuesday 16 June 2020
Contact page owner: Nursing and Midwifery