At an Awards ceremony held on 1 October 2019 at the International Convention Centre, Sydney, winners and finalists of the 2019 NSW Health Excellence in Nursing and Midwifery Awards were formally acknowledged by NSW Health Minister, Brad Hazzard and NSW Health Secretary, Elizabeth Koff.

The state’s outstanding nurses and midwives were honoured for their excellence in clinical practice, improvements in patient care and commitment to their profession.

Thirteen winners were chosen from among 43 finalists with 9 finalists from regional and rural NSW.

NSW Chief Nursing and Midwifery Officer Jacqui Cross paid tribute to the finalists in each of the categories, which included excellence in practice to clinical leadership and innovation in research.

“These nurses and midwives are the best of the best and highly deserving of these prestigious awards,” Ms Cross said.

“They do an amazing job and I thank them for their passionate, dedicated approach to helping patients and improving healthcare.”

The Hon. Brad Hazzard, Minister for Health and Elizabeth Koff, Secretary NSW Health with winners of the 2019 Excellence in Nursing and Midwifery Awards

Winners and finalists

Excellence in Nursing/Midwifery - Assistant in Nursing/Assistant in Midwifery

NameStatusFacilityLHD/Specialty Network
Meenakshi BavejaWinnerThe Children's Hospital - WestmeadSCHN
Courtney SolomonsFinalistNepean HospitalNBMLHD
Robin StablerFinalistLismore Base HospitalNNSWLHD

Excellence in Nursing – Enrolled Nurse

NameStatusFacilityLHD/Specialty Network
Neil Keenan Winner Campbelltown HospitalSWSLHD
Joshua Paroz Winner Campbelltown HospitalSWSLHD
Paul Maddocks Finalist Sydney Children's Hospital - RandwickSCHN
Helen Murphy Finalist Balranald Multi Purpose ServiceFWLHD

Excellence in Nursing/Midwifery - Graduate

NameStatusFacilityLHD/Specialty Network
Sally SmithWinnerThe Tweed HospitalNNSWLHD
Amanda ElmsFinalistLiverpool HospitalSWSLHD
Max LoweFinalistEastern Suburbs Mental Health ServicesSESLHD

Excellence in Nursing – Registered Nurse

NameStatusFacilityLHD/Specialty Network
Kerry DevineWinnerWestmead HospitalWSLHD
Colleen CrossmanFinalistNepean HospitalNBMLHD
Pauline ByrneFinalistWollongong HospitalISLHD
Patrick GouldFinalistEastern Suburbs Mental Health ServicesSESLHD

Excellence in Midwifery – Registered Midwife

NameStatusFacilityLHD/Specialty Network
Susan GuinaneWinnerNSW Health PathologyNSW Health
Michelle SimmonsFinalistWestmead HospitalWSLHD
Donna EllisFinalistBroken Hill HospitalFWLHD

Excellence in Nursing/Midwifery – Clinical Leadership

NameStatusFacilityLHD/Specialty Network
Jane BarrWinnerSydney Hospital & Sydney Eye HospitalSESLHD
Vanathy DavidFinalistWollongong HospitalISLHD
Keith DonnellyFinalistEastern Suburbs Mental Health ServicesSESLHD
Caroline CookFinalistPambula HospitalSNSWLHD

Excellence in Nursing or Midwifery Management

NameStatusFacilityLHD/Specialty Network
Brian LaneWinnerCamden & Campbelltown HospitalSWSLHD
Michelle De VroomeFinalistNSLHD DirectorateNSLHD
Matthew JohnsonFinalistThe Forensic HospitalJH&FMHN
Sally Milson-HawkeFinalistHNELHD DirectorateHNELHD
Colleen HamiltonFinalistThe Children's Hospital WestmeadSCHN

Excellence in Innovation - Education

NameStatusFacilityLHD/Specialty Network
Rowena Mitchell
WinnerSouth East Regional HospitalSNSWLHD
Lorain Squire
Rachel BrooksFinalistRoyal Pince Alfred HospitalSLHD

Excellence in Innovation - Research

NameStatusFacilityLHD/Specialty Network
Michelle Barakat-JohnsonWinnerSLHDSLHD
Lisa NealonFinalistPrince of Wales HospitalSESLHD
Anne PurcellFinalistCCLHDCCLHD

Excellence in Aboriginal & Torres Strait Islander Healthcare

NameStatusFacilityLHD/Specialty Network
Elise McCarthy-McPhanWinnerSydney Children's Hospital RandwickSCHN
Jasmine WannellFinalistIntegrated Care & Community HealthWSLHD
Frank OatesFinalistBroken Hill HospitalFWLHD
Karen KellyFinalistThe Royal Hospital for WomenSESLHD

Judith Meppem Lifetime Achievement Award

NameStatusFacilityLHD/Specialty Network
Marion HawkerWinnerGreater Newcastle Sector Community & Aged Care ServicesHNELHD
Frank RossFinalistThe Children's Hospital WestmeadSCHN
Susanne WoodersonFinalistJohn Hunter Childrens HospitalHNELHD

Consumer Appreciation Award

NameStatusFacilityLHD/Specialty Network
Matt TinkerWinnerRoyal North Shore HospitalNSLHD
Rebecca PolanskyFinalistIntegrated Care DirectorateWNSWLHD
Paul SandilandsFinalistManning Base Referral HospitalHNELHD
Marisa BoltonFinalistDubbo Health ServiceWNSWLHD
Current as at: Monday 17 February 2020
Contact page owner: Nursing and Midwifery